The HACA Austin Pathways Resident Scholarship was designed in 2001 to inspire and support HACA residents and Housing Choice Voucher participants planning to attend an institution of higher education. The scholarship serves as a vehicle of hope to individuals who desire to further their education and work toward self-sufficiency.


Applicants for a scholarship must be:

  • A current HACA public or subsidized housing resident or Housing Choice Voucher participant.
  • A graduating high school senior or already have a high school diploma/GED.
  • Currently attending or planning to attend a college, university, technical school, or other post-secondary school.

Note: If you are currently attending or have previously attended a post-secondary school, you must have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or greater (transfer credits are not considered in this GPA).


The Austin Pathways HACA Resident Scholarship is supported by Austin Pathways, as well as other nonprofit HACA subsidiaries. The scholarships are available annually on a competitive basis, and the award amount varies from year to year, depending on the availability of funds. 

Scholarship opportunities are typically posted in January for funding available in the fall of the same year. 


Texas NAHRO Scholarship –DEADLINE: FEBRUARY 19, 2021. HACA Residents must request the required Housing Agency Certification signed by the HACA Executive Director  by Monday, February  5, 2020 so that HACA can obtain the Verification Certification signature and return the form to you before the deadline. Please email for more information.

Austin Pathways HACA Scholarship – Deadline: March 30, 2021.

Open to all HACA Public Housing/PBRA and HCV residents with HS diploma or GED who are interested in attending college or vocational school.  Applicants must be in good standing with their lease. Awards are based on available funds (usually 30+ scholarships of $500 – $3000 each). For the Pathways Scholarship Application, click HERE.

Southwest NAHRO Scholarship – Deadline: March 26, 2021

HACA Residents must request the required Agency Certification form signed by the HACA Executive Director  by March 10, 2020 so that HACA can obtain the Certification signature and return the form to you before the deadline. Please email for more information.  The SWRC NAHRO annually awards scholarships totaling more than $10,000.00.  Scholarship awards are available to public housing residents, participants in rental assistance or similar programs, both heads of household and other family members, and children of staff working for a member agency.

  Atlantic Housing Foundation – Deadline March 31, 2021.

Application link:

The Atlantic Housing Foundation Scholarship Application will be open from January 1, 2021, until March 31, 2021, for the Fall 2021 semester. Applications and all supporting documents must be completed and submitted by March 31, 2021, to be considered for the Fall 2021 scholarship cycle.  Please email with any questions related to scholarships. Scholarships can be submitted online.  (NO LONGER ACCEPTING FAXED, MAILED, or EMAILED APPLICATIONS.)  All accompanying documentation must be present for the application to be considered, no separate documents will be accepted. 

2021 NAHMA Educational Foundation Application – Deadline May 15, 10 p.m. Eastern

The NAHMA Educational Foundation is accepting applications for scholarships to be awarded to worthy student residents in 2021. To access the application, visit It can also be found on the NAHMA website at by clicking on the Educational Foundation link under the About Us tab. The deadline for completed applications is 10 p.m. Eastern on Friday, May 15. In 2020, 80% of applicants filing a completed application received a scholarship resulting in the foundation awarding 108 scholarships worth a total of $270,000.

The TAAHP scholarships  – The 2021 Scholarship Application period will open in early 2021. Check back for updates..  PBRA residents of Tax Credit properties and HCV residents of AAHC’s Tax Credit properties are eligible to apply (with additional requirements per the scholarship). PBRA residents of Tax Credit properties and HCV residents of AAHC’s Tax Credit properties are eligible to apply (with additional requirements per the scholarship).

  • PBRA residents eligible that live at the following properties:
  • Georgian
  • Northloop
  • Northgate
  • Shadowbend
  • Manchaca Village
  • Gaston
  • Goodrich
  • Section 8 (HCV) Voucher holders eligible that live at the following communities:
  • Pointe at Ben White
  • Villages of Ben White
  • Harris Branch Senior
  • Reserve at Springdale
  • Urban Oaks Apartments
  • Bridge at Harris Ridge
  • Studios at ThinkEAST
  • Commons at Goodnight
  • Bridge at Cameron
  • Park at Summers Grove
  • Oaks on North Plaza
  • Woodway Village
  • Franklin Park

HAI Group’s Resident Scholarship Program – The 2021 Resident Scholarship Program will be opening up soon.

Other scholarship Opportunities

National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD) Scholarship –  Deadline April 5, 2021

NDLC offers annual scholarships and awards that celebrate the work and achievements of those students and leaders working to improve the lives of the 1 in 5 with learning and attention issues. Students must have a documented learning disability (LD) and/or ADHD.

The Allegra Ford Thomas Scholarship is a $5,000 scholarship ($2,500/year over two years) awarded to a student who will be enrolled in a two-year community college, a vocational or technical training program, or a specialized program for students with LD and/or ADHD in the fall.

The Anne Ford Scholarship is a $10,000 scholarship ($2,500/year over four years) for a student who will be enrolled in a full-time bachelor’s degree program in the fall.

MexAustin Scholarship  – Deadline April 30, 2021.

Applicants will be required to complete a FAFSA or TASFA application​ and write two essays. The scholarship application will also ask students to provide two professional references and provide a resume.

Total Views: 3615 ,